The not well thought-out marijuana laws in Colorado may be confusing and somewhat difficult to enforce - especially for ‘driving while under the influence.’
The basic law:
Colorado residents 21 and over may purchase up to an ounce of marijuana at licensed pot shops. Out-of-staters may purchase only a quarter-ounce at a time and marijuana cannot be taken out of state.
With the hoards of people converging on pot shops today, especially out-of-staters, it will be impossible to monitor how much marijuana each person is purchasing.
It is expected that Denver International Airport will attempt to maintain strict monitoring of marijuana use and possession - other parts of the state not so much.
One pot smoker comented, "I've been waiting 34 years for this moment. I've been smoking since I was 14. No more sneaking around."
Demand will outstrip supply until the surge of first month sales slackens.
According to a December ad on its website, Lightshade, a medical marijuana dispensary in Denver, charged $280 per ounce for members and $320 for non-members for its high-grade marijuana.
The state will impose total taxes of 25 percent on marijuana plus the regular state sales tax, and local taxes will also apply on top of those.
Potheads can expect to pay well over 30% in taxes.